12th International Congress on the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East, Bologna, 6-10 April 2021


The Congress has been rescheduled to April 2021 from its original April 2020 date because of the Covid-19 pandemic. While we have all experienced in these months considerable restrictions to our professional and personal lives, we believe that, keeping safety as our first and foremost concern, it is important to start to reconnect our scientific community and begin to imagine and reflect together, communicating policies and practices within a changed (and ever more challenging, in the context of the current pandemic) landscape.

The 12th ICAANE will be carried out both in presence and remotely (only for registered participants) during the week from 6th to 10th April 2021. Of course, attendees will be subject to the precautionary limitations that health regulations require in terms of social distancing and reduced capacity of classrooms (we will strictly follow the guidelines which will be in place in April 2021 for the University of Bologna). The use of a face mask will be mandatory at all times, hand sanitizers will be placed on multiple spots and speakers will be required to use a new pair of gloves during each presentation. The welcome cocktail will be held in an open space with strict observation of social distancing, individual food bags will be distributed during coffee breaks, while the social dinner is canceled.

On top of the funds collected through fees, we are investing also considerable resources into a live streaming website and equipment and into the open access publication of proceedings with Harrassowitz. 15 classrooms functioning in parallel will allow speakers to present, with copyright protection, their papers to both the in-person and virtual audience of registered participants. Discussions moderated by the session chairperson will be possible (remote questions via chat only). All speakers will be required to send also a video of their presentation as a further precaution against their own internet connection failures (detailed instructions will be circulated later on).

Posters will be presented into a virtual classroom and they will be available for download, with a prior registration into the SocArXiv database for intellectual protection. Poster authors will have the possibility to discuss their work with participants within this digital environment. Printed posters may be exhibited as well in addition to the digital version. Check the page for the announcements of cash prizes offered to registered participants.

We kindly ask colleagues wishing to update their abstracts and/or titles to do so by December 1st 2020 at the latest. Participants will need to specify if their attendance will be either remote or in person by March 5th 2021. With the rescheduling, a limited additional call for papers has been established. An addition of up to 40 new papers will be allowed into the program. Interested scholars may send a request and an abstract before November 1st, 2020 to 12icaane@unibo.it and, if accepted, they may then pay the registration fee in order to reach confirmed status.


12th ICAANE Organizing Committee

Pierfrancesco Callieri

Maurizio Cattani

Enrico Cirelli

Antonio Curci

Anna Chiara Fariselli

Henning Franzmeier

Elisabetta Govi

Mattia Guidetti

Francesco Iacono

Simone Mantellini

Gianni Marchesi

Nicolò Marchetti (Chair)

Palmiro Notizia

Adriano V. Rossi

Marco Zecchi


12th ICAANE Scientific Advisory Board

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Peter Fischer – University of Gothenburg

Tim Harrison – University of Toronto

Nicolò Marchetti – Alma Mater Studiorum - University of Bologna

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich

Glenn Schwartz – Johns Hopkins University

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen


12th ICAANE Unibo Executive Team

Michael Campeggi

Vittoria Cardini

Marzia Cavriani  

Silvia Di Cristina

Claudia D'Orazio  

Valentina Gallerani

Gabriele Giacosa  

Elena Maini

Valentina Orrù

Eleonora Mariani

Jacopo Monastero  

Chiara Mattioli

Giulia Roberto  

Marco Valeri

Federico Zaina

Francesca Cavaliere


ICAANE International Committee

Pascal Butterlin – University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Bleda Düring – University of Leiden

Marian Feldman – Johns Hopkins University

Karin Kopetzky – OREA, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Wendy Matthews – University of Reading

Adelheid Otto – Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität

Frances Pinnock – Sapienza University of Rome (Secretary General)

Ingolf Thuesen – University of Copenhagen (Chair)

Cristina Tonghini – Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Honorary Members:

Manfred Bietak – Austrian Academy of Sciences

Hartmut Kühne – Free University of Berlin

Jean-Claude Margueron – École Pratique des Hautes Études

Paolo Matthiae – Sapienza University of Rome

Diederik Meijer – University of Leiden

Alan Walmsley – University of Copenhagen

Irene Winter – Harvard University